This red pennant centers on a blue circle with a map of Fayette County. A gold star marks Washington Courthouse, the county seat. Ten stars and the names of the ten townships make a green ring around the map. The county was named for the Marquis de Lafayette, an honorary American citizen and a Major General in the Revolutionary War.