Lorain County, Ohio exhibit

Lorain County Historical Society
October 6 - September 30

Governor Thomas Worthington Center
The Ohio Statehouse
1 Capitol Square
Columbus, OH 43215


Learn about Lorain County, Ohio with a small exhibit of artifacts and stories at the Ohio Statehouse.  The display will be open to the public for six months until late spring 2024.


Lorain County was established in 1822. It was named after the Province of Lorraine, France.  It is located on the shores of Lake Erie and includes the western part of Cleveland.  


The exhibit at the Ohio Statehouse uses artifacts and text to describe the Lorain County Courthouse, agriculture, Lake Erie ship building, Arthur Garford’s bicycle saddle, Lorain County Community College, Oberlin College and Conservatory, the Spirit of ’76 painting, and the USS Lorain County navy ship.  


Notable businesses in Lorain County include Riddell Sports Group, RIDGID Tools, and Worthington Ball Company.


Historic events in this display are the Oberlin-Wellington Rescue of 1858 and the Underground Railroad.  Lorain County is expecting a solar eclipse in April and is preparing for that rare occurrence in 2024.


This exhibit is courtesy of the Lorain County Historical Society, which has preserved and shared the history of their county since 1889. Located in Elyria, LCHS owns two museums, the Lorain County History Center, and The Hickories Museum.